top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Joy Munda

OBSERVATION

Boonkumratbumroong School is a school in Khlong Nuang, Pathumthani, Thailand. This school has primary and secondary levels. The school follow the Thai Education curriculum. Also, they used Thai language in teaching Mathematics which is hard for me. Good thing I studied some Thai words related to Mathematics so I can somewhat relate when I was observing. The school has different technologies. Each classroom has an overhead projector or an widescreen LCD. The school also has bulletin boards that give useful information. Some rooms also have printers. In Matthayom classes, they have whiteboard and whiteboard markers. A lot of whiteboard markers, actually. The student teachers have books that they used in teaching. The students have the same notebooks that they used in taking notes and in answering exercises. But I observed that they don’t have or they don’t use their books in Mathematics. In case of evaluation system, exercises are always given in every class. During exams, they give written exams and the students are really behaved when taking their exams.


During morning ceremony, students line up before 8am. The morning ceremony consists of singing the national anthem, prayer, meditation and a speech from the teacher about ethics. Latecomers are given punishments like picking up trash and doing sit ups.


During lunch time, there is a time period for each year level. Students are given the same food with the same amount. The students line up to get their food, and they also clean and throw in the bin their leftovers and separate the plates from spoon and fork. The students always greet us when they meet us. When students fail to answer math problems given by the teachers they received a punishment.

I think the school has a very good discipline system.


sports day

The school also has sports day on Wednesday and Buddhist Prayer on Friday.

During my first week at Boonkumratbumrroong school, I observed the Matthayom 1/1, 1/2, 2/1, 2/2 and Prathum 2/1 and 2/3.


In Matthayom, I actually observed student teachers teach. I observed Ms. Oum, Ms. June and Ms. Fym. The three actually have the same teaching style. They will discuss two problems and will proceed to give exercises to the students to be solve in their notebooks. Afterwards, the student teacher will check on their answers and if they got everything correct, they will put a check mark on the students’ name on the students’ records. I think it’s a good thing to always provide exercises to the students to check their understanding, but I suggest to give varying activities to the students so that they will not get bored. Also, I think it’s also great if the teachers provide motivational activities at the beginning of the lesson to catch the students’ attentions, because I observed most of the male students are not listening and have their own worlds. Also, I observed that the student teachers always read their lessons before their class and discuss to the other student teachers if there are some things that they did not understand. The student teachers only used whiteboard and whiteboard marker in teaching. I think that’s understandable because they are teaching mathematics, and the topic only requires solving. But I suggest to use varying learning materials to maximize learning.


In Primary, the teacher (Ms. Rung-pirun) gave a word search activity to the students. The word search activity has pictures and she asked the pupils to color the pictures. She also asked the students to read each word that they found. I think it’s a very nice activity. It catered the Multi-intelligences theory of Howard Gardner because it’s consists of different intelligences like Linguistic, Kinetic, and Visual-Spatial.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

REFLECTION

Being a part of the SEA Teacher Program is a huge opportunity. It provides one of a kind experiences. I really gained a lot because of this program. I gained self-confidence. I gained exceptional teac

bottom of page